Dear Son

Each year on this day I whisper “stop growing up.”. This year though I’m thankful to see you reach another milestone. You are 11. Our child we were told would never come to us. Our child I was only given 5 yrs with, they thought. Yet here we are. You 11 and me almost 48. And now I want you to continue to grow, continue to tell me things about the oceans of our worlds, continue to hold your moral beliefs and strong libertarian values, continue to be kind and humble. I want another 11yrs.

You my sweet boy have more strength than anyone I know. The heart of a lion. Your loyalty to us as your parents is incredible and your love of family is admirable. How did we get so lucky? What made God bless us with you?

None of us are perfect. In fact we are glorious in our imperfections. And I love each one of yours. Maybe not those smelly pitties! We are proud to be your parents my sweet boy.

As we enter into this 11th year I say, keep growing. Keep growing into an amazing man. Keep teaching me on how to be a better person. Keep showing me the wonders of your world and our world. Keep speaking your mind and standing up for your beliefs. And keep learning. Grow sweetheart and I pray we continue to grow along with you.

Happy birthday E. I love you so very much.

Leave a comment